Ladybug Nails

Wow, two posts in one day! Go me. This one is about cute little ladybug nails that I did in a maniswap with another nail art fanatic on Instagram. Check it out if you’d like, because Instagram is bomb.

how to ladybug nail art

Anyway, these are super cute and great for the spring or summer, I’d say. Ladybugs are one of very few insects that can fly around without scaring the actual crap out of me, because they’re just so darn harmless (and good for plants!). They’re pretty and quiet, but they taste really bad… I was an extremely curious child.

how to ladybug nail art

 

how to ladybug nail art

I’d also like to take a moment to commemorate this bomb ass red that I used as the base colour. It’s something by OPI, but my friend gave me a bunch of loose minis so I don’t know what the colour is called. Would anyone like to enlighten me? Because I’m in love with it?

how to ladybug nail art

how to ladybug nail art

 

how to ladybug nail art

I don’t have much else to blather on about, so…

How to paint ladybug nails:

how to ladybug nail art

  • You’ll need: A bomb ass red nail polish, black nail polish, and white nail polish. And topcoat, a dotting tool, and a small nail art brush. You can trim a regular small art brush down. Carefully. Get a small flat brush for clean-up, paired with a bottle of nail polish remover.

how to paint ladybug nails

  • Paint your nails red. Admire said red. If the red doesn’t make you squeal with happiness, then remove and apply new red that does. This may seem silly, but it is mandatory. Absolutely mandatory.
  • Get a little black half-moon on the tip of each nail, to make the ladybug head.
  • Paint a black line from the middle of the half circle to the base of the nail using black nail polish and the small brush. Then, paint two little ladybug antennae, one on each side of the head, because they’re cute. I don’t think ladybugs actually have antennae. Do they?
  • Dot three black dots on each side of the line.
  • Give the lady bug two little eyes with the white nail polish and the dotting tool.
  • Apply topcoat for optimal ladybug shine.
  • Use the flat brush and remover to clean up any unwanted mess.

See? Super easy! And adorable. You should definitely do these.

Happy painting!

-Alice

One thought on “Ladybug Nails

Leave a comment